Skip navigationThe Wellcome Trust Advanced Courses and Scientific Conferences

Questions or Queries

+44 (0) 1223 495100




Travel Information

Abstract Guidelines

Venue Details

Past Conferences

Sponsorship Opportunities

Terms and Conditions

  Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptors
23-26 July 2014
Churchill College, Cambridge, UK

Registration for this conference is now closed.

This is the third Wellcome Trust conference on nicotinic acetylcholine receptors, following highly successful meetings in 2008 and 2011. nAChRs remain a focus of innovative research: from high resolution studies of the molecular structure and function of this family of ligand-gated ion channels to exploration of their physiological and pathological roles in normal behaviour and disease processes, respectively.  The nAChR 2014 conference aims to cover the spectrum of current research, from molecular, cellular and genetic aspects to behavioural studies.

The successful format of the previous conferences will be retained: the speaker list comprises a small number of invited speakers together with speakers selected from abstract submissions, in order to capture the latest research breakthroughs. In addition, there will be one session of short talks from graduate students and young postdocs. There will be extensive poster sessions and some 'poster lightning talks', with posters on display throughout the conference.

Please note: that due to building works to expand the Wellcome Trust Conference Centre at Hinxton, the conference will take place at Churchill College - part of the historic University of Cambridge.

Scientific programme commitee

Isabel Bermudez Oxford Brookes University, UK
Neil Millar University College London, UK
Susan Wonnacott University of Bath, UK

Confirmed Speakers:

Nii Addy Yale University, USA
John Dani University of Pennsylvania, USA
John Baenziger University of Ottawa, Canada
Thomas Balle The University of Sydney, Australia
Ana Belén Elgoyhen INGEBI-CONICET, Argentina
Cecilia Gotti CNR, Institute of Neuroscience, Italy
Isabel Bermudez Oxford Brookes University, UK
Lin Chen University of Southern California, USA
Ryan Drenan Purdue University, USA
Sergio Fucile Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy
Henry Lester Caltech, USA
Huib Mansvelder Neuroscience Campus Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Uwe Maskos Institut Pasteur, France
Robert Mather AstraZeneca, USA
Kazuhiko Matsuda Kinki University, Japan
Neil Millar University College London, UK
Roger Papke University of Florida College of Medicine, USA
Marina Picciotto Yale University, USA
Darwin Berg University of California, San Diego, USA
Lorna Role Stony Brook University, USA
Mohammed Shoaib Newcastle University, UK
Alain Simard University of Moncton, Canada
Steven Sine Mayo Clinic  College of Medicine, USA
Maryna Skok Palladin Institute of Biochemistry, Ukraine
Sabine Spijker Center for Neurogenomics and Cognitive Research, Neuroscience Campus Amsterdam VU University, The Netherlands
Andrew Tapper University of Massachusetts, USA
Millet Treinin Hebrew University - Hadassah Medical School, Israel
Victor Tsetlin Shemyakin-Ovchinnikov Institute of Bioorganic, Russia
Nigel Unwin MRC - LMB, UK
Sukumar VijayaraghavanUniversity of Colorado, USA
Paul WhiteakerBarrow Neurological Institute, USA

The conference will open with registration from 14:00 on the 23 July 2014, with presentations starting at ~16:00.
The conference will close at ~14:00 on 26 July 2014.
For a copy of the provisional programme, please click here

Registration and Accommodation:

Registration Fees:
Student No accommodation £435.00
Student On Site Single accommodation £630.00
Academic No accommodation £535.00
Academic On Site Single accommodation £730.00
Commercial No accommodation £635.00
Commercial On Site Single accommodation £830.00

The accommodation packages include registration, meals and housing (single room with a single bed) for the nights of the 23, 24 & 25 2014 at Churchill College in Cambridge.
The no accommodation package includes registration and meals only.

Abstracts and Posters:

Senior selected speaker and PhD students or junior postdocs oral presentation deadline is now closed.
Poster presentation deadline is now closed.

Please Note: abstracts will not be accepted if the presenting author is not registered.

Poster lightning talks:
Each poster presenter will be given the opportunity to present a 2 minute talk in the lecture hall before the poster sessions. The 2 minute talk should be an introduction to the poster and accompanied by 1 slide only.
If your poster is accepted you will be contacted by Jemma Beard and a slide will need to be provided in advance of the conference.
Please indicate your preference on presenting a lightning talk during registration.


Poster boards onsite will accommodate 118 cm high by 84 cm wide (A0- portrait) of printed material.
Accepted abstracts will appear in the conference programme book and poster boards will be allocated at the conference.

Travel Visas:
If you require a letter to support your visa application, please contact Jemma Beard on
Please Note: We are unable to provide a letter of support if you the applicant has not registered for the conference.


We would like to acknowledge the generous support from the following organisations (for information on sponsoring this conference, please contact us):



 Gibbs Building, 215 Euston Road, London NW1 2BE, UK   tel:+44 (0)20 7611 8888